1. Home
  2. /
  3. Products
  4. /
  5. Fifth Luminous Mystery –...

Fifth Luminous Mystery – The Institution of the Eucharist

Handcrafted Dolomite Stone and Resin Plaque
8.6 x 6.9 x 1 inches
Fifth Luminous Mystery of the Rosary
Additional Shipping Charges May Apply
Made in France

Product Description

The Fifth Luminous Mystery – The Institution of the Eucharist plaque depicts Jesus, on the night before he died, at table – at his Last Supper – breaking bread and sharing wine with his disciples. The disciple whom he loved reclines at his chest while Judas, son of Simon Iscariot, the one who will betray him, reaches for the bread given to him by Jesus (John 13:18-30). The Fifth Luminous Mystery – The Institution of the Eucharist plaque is of course an especially fitting gift to celebrate a first communion or an ordination. But this plaque – as part of the complete set of twenty plaques of all the Mysteries of the Rosary – is surely a most fitting gift for a convent, school, parish (especially one name “Our Lady of the Rosary”), retreat house, hospice, hospital, or monastery.

The Fifth Luminous Mystery – The Institution of the Eucharist Plaque – A Sublime Labor of Love, Faith, and Hope

The Fifth Luminous Mystery – The Institution of the Eucharist plaque is 8.25 inches high, 6.75 inches wide, and 1 inch thick. Each member of a community of cloistered religious nuns in France conceive, mold from dolomite stone and resin, and finish by hand each and every plaque in their monastery atelier. Each member of the community prayerfully completes a specific task required for finishing each and every plaque. How, where, and by whom the Fifth Luminous Mystery – The Institution of the Eucharist plaque is created demonstrates abundantly how profoundly ”culturally authentic” – and what a wondrous labor of love, faith and hope this plaque is!

The Institution of the Eucharist (Luke 22:7-30)

Then came the day of Unleavened Bread on which the Passover lamb had to be sacrificed. Jesus sent Peter and John, saying, “Go and make preparations for us to eat the Passover.” “Where do you want us to prepare for it?” they asked. He replied, “As you enter the city, a man carrying a jar of water will meet you. Follow him to the house that he enters, and say to the owner of the house, ‘The Teacher asks: Where is the guest room, where I may eat the Passover with my disciples?’ He will show you a large room upstairs, all furnished. Make preparations there.” They left and found things just as Jesus had told them. So they prepared the Passover. When the hour came, Jesus and his apostles reclined at the table. And he said to them, “I have eagerly desired to eat this Passover with you before I suffer. For I tell you, I will not eat it again until it finds fulfillment in the kingdom of God.” After taking the cup, he gave thanks and said, “Take this and divide it among you. For I tell you I will not drink again from the fruit of the vine until the kingdom of God comes.” And he took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body given for you; do this in remembrance of me.” In the same way, after the supper he took the cup, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood, which is poured out for you. But the hand of him who is going to betray me is with mine on the table. The Son of Man will go as it has been decreed. But woe to that man who betrays him!” They began to question among themselves which of them it might be who would do this.  A dispute also arose among them as to which of them was considered to be greatest. Jesus said to them, “The kings of the Gentiles lord it over them; and those who exercise authority over them call themselves Benefactors.  But you are not to be like that. Instead, the greatest among you should be like the youngest, and the one who rules like the one who serves. For who is greater, the one who is at the table or the one who serves? Is it not the one who is at the table? But I am among you as one who serves. You are those who have stood by me in my trials. And I confer on you a kingdom, just as my Father conferred one on me, so that you may eat and drink at my table in my kingdom and sit on thrones, judging the twelve tribes of Israel.

The “Luminous Mysteries” of the Rosary

A standard fifteen Mysteries of the Rosary, based on long-standing custom, was established by Pope Pius V in 1569. The fifteen mysteries were grouped together in three sets: the Joyful Mysteries, the Sorrowful Mysteries, and the Glorious Mysteries. Pope St. John Paul II introduced the Luminous Mysteries in his October 2002 Apostolic Letter Rosarium Virginis Mariae for Roman Catholics to commemorate while praying the Rosary on Thursdays. The Luminous Mysteries of the Rosary – or the “Mysteries of Light” as they are also called – focus on the public life of Jesus, that is, the years of his preaching between His Baptism and His death. They are called the “Mysteries of Light” because Jesus is the light of the World. Jesus as the light is mentioned repeatedly Gospel of John:   The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.  There was a man sent from God whose name was John. He came as a witness to testify concerning that light, so that through him all might believe. He himself was not the light; he came only as a witness to the light. The true light that gives light to everyone was coming into the world. (John 1:5-9) — While I am in the world, I am the light of the world. (John 9:5). Pope St. John Paul II felt that it was important to add these mysteries to the history of the rosary since there was a yawning gap between Jesus’ childhood meditated upon in the Joyful Mysteries and his suffering and death meditated upon in the Sorrowful Mysteries. He also added the Luminous Mysteries to revive interest in the Rosary which in his words illumines an “ocean of joy and of light, of suffering and of glory” in the lives of Jesus and Mary.

The Mysteries of the Rosary


  1. The Annunciation of the Lord to Mary
  2. The Visitation of Mary to Elizabeth
  3. The Nativity of our Lord Jesus Christ
  4. The Presentation of Our Lord
  5. Finding Jesus in the Temple at age 12


  1. The Agony of Jesus in the Garden
  2. The Scourging at the Pillar
  3. Jesus is Crowned with Thorns
  4. Jesus Carries the Cross
  5. The Crucifixion of our Lord


  1. The Resurrection of Jesus Christ
  2. The Ascension of Jesus to Heaven
  3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit
  4. The Assumption of Mary into Heaven
  5. Mary is Crowned as Queen of Heaven and Earth


  1. The Baptism of Jesus in the Jordan
  2. The Wedding at Cana
  3. The Proclamation of the Kingdom
  4. The Transfiguration
  5. The Institution of the Eucharist

Shipping Information

Weight 2
Dimensions 9 x 8 x 2 in
Scroll to Top