1. Home
  2. /
  3. Products
  4. /
  5. Third Luminous Mystery –...

Third Luminous Mystery – The Proclamation of the Kingdom

Handcrafted Dolomite Stone and Resin Plaque
8.6 x 6.9 x 1 inches
Fifth Sorrowful Mystery of the Rosary
Additional Shipping Charges May Apply
Made in France

Item Number: beth1647

Product Description

The Third Luminous Mystery – The Proclamation of the Kingdom plaque depicts Jesus standing in a boat and proclaiming the coming of God’s Kingdom. The Third Luminous Mystery – The Proclamation of the Kingdom plaque is of course an especially fitting gift for the pastor of your church who preaches the Word every Sunday. But this plaque – as part of the complete set of plaques of the 20 Mysteries of the Rosary – is also a wonderful gift for a school, parish, convent, retreat house, hospital, hospice, or monastery.

The Third Luminous Mystery – The Proclamation of the Kingdom Plaque – A Wonderful Labor of Love, Faith, and Hope

The Third Luminous Mystery – The Proclamation of the Kingdom plaque is 8.25 inches high, 6.75 inches wide, and 1 inch thick. A community of cloistered religious sisters in a French monastery design, mold from dolomite stone and resin, and finish by hand each and every plaque in their atelier. Each member of the community prayerfully fulfills an assigned task required for the completion of every plaque. How, where, and by whom Third Luminous Mystery – The Proclamation of the Kingdom plaque is realized gives proof to how profoundly ”culturally authentic” – and what a wonderful labor of love, faith and hope this plaque is!

Jesus Proclaims the Kingdom in Parables (Matthew 13:1-3)

That same day Jesus went out of the house and sat by the lake. Such large crowds gathered around him that he got into a boat and sat in it, while all the people stood on the shore. Then he told them many things in parables, saying: “A farmer went out to sow his seed…” 

The “Luminous Mysteries” of the Rosary

A standard fifteen Mysteries of the Rosary, based on long-standing custom, was established by Pope Pius V in 1569. The fifteen mysteries were grouped together in three sets: the Joyful Mysteries, the Sorrowful Mysteries, and the Glorious Mysteries. Pope St. John Paul II introduced the Luminous Mysteries in his October 2002 Apostolic Letter Rosarium Virginis Mariae for Roman Catholics to commemorate while praying the Rosary on Thursdays. The Luminous Mysteries of the Rosary – or the “Mysteries of Light” as they are also called – focus on the public life of Jesus, that is, the years of his preaching between His Baptism and His death. They are called the “Mysteries of Light” because Jesus is the light of the World. Jesus as the light is mentioned repeatedly Gospel of John:   The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.  There was a man sent from God whose name was John. He came as a witness to testify concerning that light, so that through him all might believe. He himself was not the light; he came only as a witness to the light. The true light that gives light to everyone was coming into the world. (John 1:5-9) — While I am in the world, I am the light of the world. (John 9:5). Pope St. John Paul II felt that it was important to add these mysteries to the history of the rosary since there was a yawning gap between Jesus’ childhood meditated upon in the Joyful Mysteries and his suffering and death meditated upon in the Sorrowful Mysteries. He also added the Luminous Mysteries to revive interest in the Rosary which in his words illumines an “ocean of joy and of light, of suffering and of glory” in the lives of Jesus and Mary.

The Mysteries of the Rosary


  1. The Annunciation of the Lord to Mary
  2. The Visitation of Mary to Elizabeth
  3. The Nativity of our Lord Jesus Christ
  4. The Presentation of Our Lord
  5. Finding Jesus in the Temple at age 12


  1. The Agony of Jesus in the Garden
  2. The Scourging at the Pillar
  3. Jesus is Crowned with Thorns
  4. Jesus Carries the Cross
  5. The Crucifixion of our Lord


  1. The Resurrection of Jesus Christ
  2. The Ascension of Jesus to Heaven
  3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit
  4. The Assumption of Mary into Heaven
  5. Mary is Crowned as Queen of Heaven and Earth


  1. The Baptism of Jesus in the Jordan
  2. The Wedding at Cana
  3. The Proclamation of the Kingdom
  4. The Transfiguration
  5. The Institution of the Eucharist

Shipping Information

Weight 2
Dimensions 9 x 8 x 2 in
Scroll to Top